Arkansas Baptist College

Arkansas Baptist College

Arkansas Baptist College in Little Rock, the only historically black Baptist higher education institution west of the Mississippi River, offers four-year degrees, two-year degrees and certificate programs. The school is affiliated with the Consolidated Missionary Baptist State Convention of Arkansas. In its quest to be a voice for underrepresented students, it provides education without charging out-of-state tuition fees.

Dr. Joseph L. Jones, was selected as the 14th President of Arkansas Baptist College in 2016. Prior to Arkansas Baptist College, Dr. Jones served as a visiting professor of Political Science in the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB).  Prior to his role at UAPB, Dr. Jones was Founder and Executive Director of the Social Justice Institute at Philander Smith College in Little Rock, Arkansas.

“My family and I are excited to be a part of the Arkansas Baptist College family. We look forward to working with all of the stakeholders connected to the College, especially the students. I want to thank the Board of Trustees and the presidential search committee for this amazing opportunity. My promise to them and to the College is that I will do all I can to continue the College’s efforts to remain steadfast in its journey of becoming recognized as an outstanding institution of higher education,” said Dr. Jones.

Located near downtown Little Rock, Arkansas Baptist College originally was known as the Ministers’ Institute. The school opened at Mt. Zion Baptist Church in Little Rock in November 1884 with the objective of raising the educational level of black ministers. In August 1885, the college’s name was changed to Arkansas Baptist College and the school was moved to its present location, with the expanded mission of making a college education available to all young black men and women.

Major campus renovation and construction projects have taken place in recent years.